Some of Our Favorite New Picture Books

Here at Little Shop of Stories, we truly believe that picture books can save the world! Through a laugh, a lesson, or a laptime snuggle, picture books bring joy to readers big and small.

Beautifully Me Cover Image
By Nabela Noor, Nabi H. Ali (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534485877
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 14th, 2021

From designer, creator, and self-love advocate Nabela Noor (@Nabela) comes a much-needed picture book about loving yourself just as you are.

Meet Zubi: a joyful Bangladeshi girl excited about her first day of school. But when Zubi sees her mother frowning in the mirror and talking about being “too big,” she starts to worry about her own body and how she looks.


Circle Under Berry Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781797205083
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - September 14th, 2021

Part Sandra Boynton, part Each Peach Pear Plum; part Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, part Hippopposites—a treat for the brain and the tongue.

With an elegant and simple approach, this thought-provoking concept book shows young readers that everything in the world can be seen from infinite perspectives.


Clovis Keeps His Cool Cover Image
By Katelyn Aronson, Eve Farb (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781645672135
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Page Street Kids - August 17th, 2021

Clovis used to struggle with his temper, but ever since he took over his late grandmother’s china shop, he’s been learning how to manage it. He pours tea, listens to soothing music, and always keeps Granny’s words in mind: “Grace, grace, nothing broken to replace.”


Archie Celebrates Diwali Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781623541194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Charlesbridge Publishing - September 14th, 2021

It's Archie's favorite holiday--Diwali. And this year she gets to share it with her friends and introduce them to the festival of lights


Bear Is a Bear Cover Image
By Jonathan Stutzman, Dan Santat (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062880512
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - September 14th, 2021

A gorgeous, classic gift book about the enduring love between a little girl and her childhood friend, Bear, from popular author Jonathan Stutzman and Caldecott Medal–winning and #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator Dan Santat.

Bear is . . . a new friend, a fellow mischief-maker, a protector, and a dreamer.


Where Three Oceans Meet Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419741296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - August 24th, 2021

 A child, mother, and grandmother travel all the way to the end of the earth in this picture book that celebrates multigenerational love—perfect for fans of Drawn Together and Alma.

“I want to see what’s at the end of the earth!”
    
Sejal, Mommy, and Pati travel together to the southern tip of India.


A Walk in the Words Cover Image
By Hudson Talbott, Hudson Talbott (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399548710
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 14th, 2021

“A beautifully rendered and deeply inspiring book for everyone who has ever read slowly—myself included! Hudson shows us the beauty and magic that can come from taking our time. Brilliant.”—Jacqueline Woodson
 
Hudson Talbott's inspiring story vividly reveals the challenges--and ultimately the rewards--of being a non-mainstream kind of learner.


Dragonboy Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316462167
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 14th, 2021

Reminiscent of Pete the Cat and Llama Llama, Dragonboy begins a new series about a curious, imaginative, playful little boy and his band of lovable stuffed animal friends.

Dragonboy is curious. He is playful, pensive, and kind. More than anything, he is himself: an imaginative little boy who loves to be a dragon.


Hardly Haunted Cover Image
By Jessie Sima, Jessie Sima (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534441705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - July 20th, 2021

From the bestselling creator of Not Quite Narwhal comes a delightfully spooky story about an old house who wants to be a home…even if her new family isn’t what she expected.

House has a problem.

She’s a little spooky. She’s a little cobwebby. Oh, no! What if she’s haunted?

She’s not sure, but…her hinges creak.


Cat Problems (Animal Problems) Cover Image
By Jory John, Lane Smith (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593302132
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Studio - August 3rd, 2021

What could a pampered house cat possibly have to complain about? This latest collaboration from picture book superstars--and cat devotees--Lane Smith and Jory John brings with it a hilarious set of feline problems!

Just like most cats, this cat lives an extremely comfortable life. But he has his problems too!


Pug & Pig and Friends Cover Image
By Sue Lowell Gallion, Joyce Wan (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534463004
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beach Lane Books - August 17th, 2021

The stars of the celebrated Pug Meets Pig and Pug & Pig Trick-or-Treat are back in this funny and timely tale about learning to get along.

Pug and Pig and their friends Robin and Squirrel love digging in the garden and zooming around the backyard together. But there’s another “friend” in the backyard who isn’t quite so friendly.


Chirp!: Chipmunk Sings for a Friend Cover Image
By Jamie A. Swenson, Scott Magoon (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534470026
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - July 13th, 2021

“This gentle, simply told story addresses the importance and enjoyment of friendship and collaboration." —Kirkus Reviews

A chipmunk searches for someone to sing along with her in this sweet and funny celebration of true friendship, featuring art by New York Times bestselling illustrator Scott Magoon.

Chipmunk spends her days sitting on her roc


Moon Pops Cover Image
By Heena Baek, Jieun Kiaer (Translator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781771474290
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Owlkids - August 15th, 2021

A witty, weird, and wonderful spin on a classic Korean folktale, the first picture book to be published in English by internationally acclaimed Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award winner Heena Baek
"Whimsically varied perspectives and the unusual depth of field offered by Baek's technique make for an entrancing display." -- Kirkus Reviews - STARRED REVIEW


Vampenguin Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534466982
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - July 20th, 2021

From the critically acclaimed author and illustrator of A Hungry Lion and Stumpkin comes a charming, wryly humorous story of adventure, mistaken identity, and a vampire family’s day at the zoo.

On a Saturday morning, baby Dracula visits the zoo with his family, where baby Penguin lives with hers.