Some of Our Favorite New Picture Books

Here at Little Shop of Stories, we truly believe that picture books can save the world! Through a laugh, a lesson, or a laptime snuggle, picture books bring joy to readers big and small.

Lou: A Children's Picture Book About a Fire Hydrant and Unlikely Neighborhood Hero By Breanna Carzoo, Breanna Carzoo (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Breanna Carzoo, Breanna Carzoo (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063054059
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - July 12th, 2022

Don’t miss this humorous and heartwarming picture book by debut creator Breanna Carzoo about an unlikely everyday hero: a fire hydrant! Perfect for fans of The Good Egg and The Bad Seed.

Meet Lou. Lou has an important job . . . as the neighborhood toilet for dogs on their walks.


Llama Rocks the Cradle of Chaos (A Llama Book #3) By Jonathan Stutzman, Heather Fox (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jonathan Stutzman, Heather Fox (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250776761
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - July 12th, 2022

In Llama Rocks the Cradle of Chaos, the latest installment of Jonathan Stutzman and Heather Fox's hilarious Llama series, our favorite doomsday-prone hero has yet another shot at saving the world (and more delicious desserts)…from himself.

Llama just ate a doughnut—the most scrumptious, most sprinkled doughnut in existence—and he needs to eat it again.


My Name Is a Story: An Empowering First Day of School Book for Kids By Ashanti, Monica Mikai (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ashanti, Monica Mikai (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063222366
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - July 12th, 2022

From Grammy Award-winning singer Ashanti comes an empowering story about a girl who learns to love her unique name.

First days aren’t easy for a girl with a name like Ashanti. It feels like no one can pronounce it correctly! But with some encouragement from her mom, Ashanti spells her name and learns just how special it is.


Staff Pick Badge
Endlessly Ever After: Pick YOUR Path to Countless Fairy Tale Endings! By Laurel Snyder, Dan Santat (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Laurel Snyder, Dan Santat (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781452144825
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - April 19th, 2022

This funny, original choose-your-path picture book of fractured fairy tales will charm any young fan of the genre, putting the power of storytelling right in the reader's hands!

Grab your basket and your coat. Put on some walking shoes.
Turn the page and begin: Which story will you choose?


Goodnight Racism By Ibram X. Kendi, Cbabi Bayoc (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ibram X. Kendi, Cbabi Bayoc (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593110515
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kokila - June 14th, 2022

National Book Award–winning and New York Times bestselling author Ibram X. Kendi (How to Be an Antiracist, Antiracist Baby) returns with a new picture book that serves as a modern bedtime classic.


The Surprise By Zadie Smith, Nick Laird, Magenta Fox (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Zadie Smith, Nick Laird, Magenta Fox (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593525975
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - June 28th, 2022

This back-to-school season, individuality is in! Nothing makes a splash like being uniquely yourself—and celebrating what makes you different.

From acclaimed authors Zadie Smith and Nick Laird, with art from exciting newcomer Magenta Fox, comes a powerful picture book debut!


This Book Is Not for You! By Shannon Hale, Tracy Subisak (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Shannon Hale, Tracy Subisak (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984816856
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - April 19th, 2022

From New York Times bestselling and Newbery Honor–winning author Shannon Hale and award-winning illustrator Tracy Subisak, comes a zany picture book that pokes fun at overly gendered notions of "boy books" and "girl books" and celebrates the pleasure of a good book.