Some of Our Favorite New Picture Books

Here at Little Shop of Stories, we truly believe that picture books can save the world! Through a laugh, a lesson, or a laptime snuggle, picture books bring joy to readers big and small.

Hardly Haunted Cover Image
By Jessie Sima, Jessie Sima (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534441705
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - July 20th, 2021

From the bestselling creator of Not Quite Narwhal comes a delightfully spooky story about an old house who wants to be a home…even if her new family isn’t what she expected.

House has a problem.

She’s a little spooky. She’s a little cobwebby. Oh, no! What if she’s haunted?

She’s not sure, but…her hinges creak.


A Boy Named Isamu: A Story of Isamu Noguchi Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593203446
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - June 15th, 2021

With stunning artwork and heart-singing text, the 2020 winner of the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award brings to life the imagination of Isamu Noguchi.

If you are Isamu, stones are the most special of all.
How can they be so heavy?
Would they float if they had no weight?


Those Are Not My Underpants! Cover Image
By Melissa Martin, Troy Cummings (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984831897
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - June 15th, 2021

Someone lost their underpants! There, dangling from that tree branch! Are they YOURS? New York Times bestselling author/illustrator of Can I Be Your Dog?, Troy Cummings, brings to life Melissa Martin's gentle but hilarious read aloud, filled with silliness and gleeful anticipation of THE END.


Becoming Vanessa Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525582120
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 15th, 2021

For readers of Alma and How She Got Her Name and The King of Kindergarten, this story will help kids just starting school transform from timid caterpillars into beautiful butterflies so they can love who they are.


The New Kid Has Fleas Cover Image
By Ame Dyckman, Eda Kaban (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250245243
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - June 15th, 2021

From bestselling author Ame Dyckman and illustrator Eda Kaban, The New Kid Has Fleas is a hilarious picture book about a new kid in school who appears to have been raised by wolves.

There's a new kid in class, and they're . . . different.

They dress different. Talk different. Eat different.

And the word on the playground is: they have fleas.


Beach Toys vs. School Supplies Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374314040
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - June 15th, 2021

A fun-filled tale of summertime, teamwork, and the balance between having fun and buckling down, from Twins creator Mike Ciccotello!


What Is God Like? Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593193310
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Convergent Books - June 15th, 2021

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The late, beloved Rachel Held Evans answers many children's first question about God in this gorgeous picture book, fully realized by her friend Matthew Paul Turner, the bestselling author of When God Made You.


Theo TheSaurus: The Dinosaur Who Loved Big Words Cover Image
By Shelli R. Johannes, Mike Moran (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593205518
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Philomel Books - June 15th, 2021

When a big vocabulary leads to big confusion, Theo TheSaurus learns that there are some things you can say without any words at all! This story is Fancy Nancy for dinosaur lovers.


We Are All Under One Wide Sky Cover Image
By Deborah Wiles, Andrea Stegmaier (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781683646334
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sounds True - June 15th, 2021

Children will learn to both celebrate diversity and embrace how much we all have in common.


Small Nap, Little Dream Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525517825
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - June 15th, 2021

This playful story celebrates the joy of a refreshing nap--while introducing some simple Spanish vocabulary.


Little Bat in Night School Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780358269847
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - June 29th, 2021

Little Bat is excited about his first night in school! Readers will love to see him spread his wings in this sweet, inspiring picture book from New York Times best-selling and Caldecott Honor–winning Brian Lies.