Read Local Challenge

For any schools participating in the SCBWI Read Local Challenge, here are all the books on their list! Please let us know if we can get any of them for you. We love our local authors, illustrators, schools, and teachers, and we love it when they all come together to celebrate wonderful books and share them with kids!

 

Something Happened to My Dad: A Story about Immigration and Family Separation By Ann Hazzard, Vivianne Aponte Rivera, Gloria Félix (Illustrator) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781433839443
Availability: Backordered - Not In Stock
Published: Magination Press - May 17th, 2022

In this realistic and empowering tale, Carmen learns that through community and love, she can find strength in herself and maintain her connection with her Papi, who has been detained because of his immigration status. Also available in a Spanish edition, Algo Le Pas A Mi Pap Una Historia Sobre Inmigraci n y la Separaci n Familiar ISBN 9781433839504.


A Look Back In Time: Memoir of a Military Kid in the Fifties By Dwayne Johnson (Illustrator), Michele Barard (Editor), Bernard N. Lee Jr Cover Image
By Dwayne Johnson (Illustrator), Michele Barard (Editor), Bernard N. Lee Jr
$16.19
ISBN: 9780692313046
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
(This book cannot be returned.)
Published: Bernard N. Lee, Jr. - December 20th, 2014

"A Look Back In Time: Memoir of a Military Kid in the Fifties" is a fascinating, insightful, inspiring, and sometimes hilarious chronicle of life while growing up in a military family - Colonel Arnold R. Goodson, United States Army (Retired).


Taste Your Words By Bonnie Clark, Todd Bright (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Bonnie Clark, Todd Bright (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781546015178
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: WorthyKids - April 7th, 2020

Teach kids about the power of words and the importance of kindness with this charming picture book that cleverly illustrates why we should think before we speak.


Adventures of the Sizzling Six: Monarch Mysteries By Claire Datnow, Ruth Palmer (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Claire Datnow, Ruth Palmer (Illustrator)
$16.99
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781595728647
Published: Star Bright Books - December 30th, 2019

The Secret Notebook By Teresa Martinez (Cover Design by), D. a. D'Aurelio Cover Image
By Teresa Martinez (Cover Design by), D. a. D'Aurelio
$16.99
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781684461929
Published: Capstone Editions - August 1st, 2020

Riley Green is certain her lie detector pen will improve her status in a school full of kids from the most powerful families of Washington, D.C. But her plan collapses when her invention idea is stolen, her favorite teacher goes missing, and mysterious threats begin to appear around capital.


More-igami By Dori Kleber, G. Brian Karas (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Dori Kleber, G. Brian Karas (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781536209716
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - September 17th, 2019

A creative young boy with a passion for practicing origami finds a surprising source of encouragement on his diverse city block.


What's in Your Pocket?: Collecting Nature's Treasures By Heather L. Montgomery, Maribel Lechuga (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781623541224
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Charlesbridge - September 14th, 2021

Charles Darwin, George Washington Carver, and Jane Goodall were once curious kids with pockets full of treasures!


Orange Porange By Howard Pearlstein, Rob Hardison (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Howard Pearlstein, Rob Hardison (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9789815044836
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Marshall Cavendish Children - March 1st, 2023

All the colors make rhyming look so easy. But poor Orange can’t find a rhyme for itself — no matter how hard it tries.

Filled with clever rhymes and nonsense words, Orange Porange takes young readers on a rhyming adventure filled with ups, downs and a valuable lesson about embracing our uniqueness.


Be a Bridge By Irene Latham, Charles Waters, Nabila Adani (Illustrator) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781728423388
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Carolrhoda Books (R) - August 2nd, 2022

In this upbeat picture book, acclaimed authors Irene Latham and Charles Waters bring key themes from their earlier collaborations (Can I Touch Your Hair? and Dictionary for a Better World) to a young audience.


Bisa's Carnaval By Joana Pastro, Carolina Coroa (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Joana Pastro, Carolina Coroa (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338617627
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orchard Books - December 7th, 2021

Discover the sights and sounds of Brazil through the eyes of a young girl and her great-grandmother as they share in the excitement of Carnaval!

BISA'S CARNAVAL is the 2022 Bronze Medal Winner of the Alma Flor Ada Best Latino Focused Children's Picture Book Award - English

It's time for Carnaval and Clara cannot wait to celebrate her favorite holiday with fa


The Struggle Bus By Julie Koon, Nevin Mays (Editor) Cover Image
By Julie Koon, Nevin Mays (Editor)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781638940012
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Kind World Publishing - March 8th, 2022

Sometimes things are really tough. It's just too hard. You've had enough. Grumble, rumble, bump and roar, The Struggle Bus is at your door
You can cry, or you can shout, kick and scream or have a pout. Feel your feelings for a bit. Just keep moving--don't you quit


The Little Blue Cottage By Kelly Jordan, Jessica Courtney-Tickle (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781624149238
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Page Street Kids - May 12th, 2020

The little blue cottage waits each year for summer to arrive—and with it, the girl. Through sunny days and stormy weather, the cottage and the girl keep each other company and wile away the long days and nights together. Until one year, and then another, the cottage is left waiting and empty season after season.


There's No Cream in Cream Soda: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Drinks By Kim Zachman, Peter Donnelly (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kim Zachman, Peter Donnelly (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780762481323
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Running Press Kids - July 18th, 2023

From soda to water to milk and juice, this refreshing follow-up to There's No Ham in Hamburgers is full of fun facts and origin stories of some of America’s most popular drinks. 

People have been inventing drinks for thousands of years.


Spark, Shine, Glow!: What a Light Show By Lola M. Schaefer, James Yang (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Lola M. Schaefer, James Yang (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062457110
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 23rd, 2023

What is light, and how does it shape our world? Acclaimed author Lola M. Schaefer and award-winning artist James Yang illuminate the essential concept of light in this playful and informative picture book. An educational and inventive picture book for readers of David Macaulay and Jason Chin, and anyone curious about how light impacts our world.


Something Happened to Our Planet: Kids Tackle the Climate Crisis By Marianne Celano, Marietta Collins, Bhagya Madanasinghe (Illustrator) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781433840722
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Magination Press - March 7th, 2023

Join the Earth Patrol Written to help parents begin conversations with their children about a challenging and important topic, Something Happened to Our Planet describes the narrator's efforts to help the planet with her friends, by advocating for re-usable plates at her school.


The Nest That Wren Built (Animal Habitats #1) By Randi Sonenshine, Anne Hunter (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Randi Sonenshine, Anne Hunter (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536201536
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - March 10th, 2020

Nature lovers and poetry fans alike will be drawn to this lyrical picture book depicting how Carolina wrens build a nest for their young.

This is the bark, snippets of twine,
spidery rootlets, and needles of pine
that shape the nest that Wren built.


Doll-E 1.0 By Shanda McCloskey Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316510318
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 1st, 2018

A STEM-friendly tale of a girl and the doll she upgrades to be her new friend, for fans of The Most Magnificent Thing and Rosie Revere, Engineer.


Theo TheSaurus: The Dinosaur Who Loved Big Words By Shelli R. Johannes, Mike Moran (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Shelli R. Johannes, Mike Moran (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593205518
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - June 15th, 2021

When a big vocabulary leads to big confusion, Theo TheSaurus learns that there are some things you can say without any words at all! This story is Fancy Nancy for dinosaur lovers.


Cowhide-and-Seek By Sheri Dillard, Jess Pauwels (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sheri Dillard, Jess Pauwels (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780762491841
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Running Press Kids - May 7th, 2019

A fun and humorous picture book about a cow playing hide and seek, perfect for fans of Click, Clack, Moo.

Where, oh where, could Bessie be?


National Geographic Readers: Kamala Harris (Level 2) By Tonya K. Grant Cover Image
$4.99
ISBN: 9781426373251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: National Geographic Kids - January 4th, 2022

HBCU Proud By Yvette Manns Cover Image
$18.74
ISBN: 9798567990650
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
(This book cannot be returned.)
Published: Independently Published - November 20th, 2019

This big-hearted story of legacy, tradition and bravery-is an amazing way to introduce the child in your life to Historically Black Colleges and Universities. Written by an HBCU graduate and educator, this story will be sure to expose children to the wonders of an HBCU through a realistic fiction experience, through the lens of the child. Aunt Tru had done it again.


Bobby Lee: My Dad My Hero By Glenda J. Carter Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781665737135
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Archway Publishing - January 31st, 2023