LGBTQIA+

Browse this selection of books for all ages featuring and celebrating LGBTQIA+ characters! Of course there are SO MANY MORE titles that could be added to this list- this is merely a starting place.

Our Rainbow Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781499809343
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: little bee books - May 7th, 2019

In this beautiful, bold board book, children will learn about the colors of the iconic pride flag!

Red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple, black, and brown . . .
These are the colors of our rainbow flag. Do you know what they stand for?

Every young child is enchanted by the beautiful colors of the rainbow.


Plenty of Hugs Cover Image
By Fran Manushkin, Kate Alizadeh (Illustrator)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780525554011
Availability: Hard to Find - Unlikely to be Available
Published: Dial Books - April 14th, 2020

Two mommies spend a sunny day with their toddler in this cozy, rhyming picture book that is a loving celebration of family.


The Hips on the Drag Queen Go Swish, Swish, Swish Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780762467655
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Running Press Kids - May 5th, 2020

Playing off "The Wheels on the Bus," this nursery rhyme book from a founder of Drag Queen Story Hour is a fun, freewheeling celebration of being your most fabulous self.


Be Amazing: A History of Pride Cover Image
By Desmond Napoles, Dylan Glynn (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374312589
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - July 21st, 2020

In Be Amazing, drag kid Desmond is Amazing walks you through the history of the LGBTQ community, all while encouraging you to embrace your own uniqueness and ignore the haters.

Desmond is amazing—and you are, too.


I'm Not a Girl: A Transgender Story Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374310684
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - August 4th, 2020

Based on a true transgender identity journey, the picture book I'm Not a Girl is an empowering story from writers Maddox Lyons and Jessica Verdi about a boy who is determined to be himself, illustrated by Dana Simpson.

Nobody seems to understand that Hannah is not a girl.


Stonewall: A Building. An Uprising. A Revolution Cover Image
By Rob Sanders, Jamey Christoph (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524719524
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - April 23rd, 2019

Celebrate Pride every day with the very first picture book to tell of its historic and inspiring role in the gay civil rights movement, from the author of the acclaimed Pride: The Story of Harvey Milk and the Rainbow Flag.


Rick Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338048100
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - April 21st, 2020

From the award-winning author of George, the story of a boy named Rick who needs to explore his own identity apart from his jerk of a best friend.

Rick's never questioned much. He's gone along with his best friend Jeff even when Jeff's acted like a bully and a jerk.


The Other Boy Cover Image
By M. G. Hennessey, Sfe R. Monster (Illustrator)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780062427670
Availability: Backordered - Not In Stock
Published: HarperCollins - June 4th, 2019

A beautifully heartfelt story about one boy’s journey toward acceptance. A book that Jill Soloway, the award-winning creator of Transparent, called “a terrific read for all ages” and Ami Polonsky, author of Gracefully Grayson, called “an emotionally complex and achingly real read.”


Gracefully Grayson Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781484723654
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 7th, 2016

"Tenderly and courageously told, Gracefully Grayson is a small miracle of a book. Its story is so compelling I found myself holding my breath as I read it and so intimate I felt as if what was happening to Grayson was happening to me.


Drum Roll, Please Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780062791153
Availability: Backordered - Not In Stock
Published: HarperCollins - May 14th, 2019

Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat in this big-hearted middle grade novel. One of Time Out's “LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month,” this is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Drama and Tim Federle's 


The Best at It Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062866424
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 6th, 2020

From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own. One of Time Out's “LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month,” this is perfect for fans of Tim Federle’s Nate series.


To Night Owl From Dogfish Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525553243
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - April 28th, 2020

From two extraordinary authors comes a moving, exuberant, laugh-out-loud novel about friendship and family, told entirely in emails and letters.


Better Nate Than Ever Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781534429130
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 18th, 2018

“The Nate series by Tim Federle is a wonderful evocation of what it’s like to be a theater kid.


The Pants Project Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781728215525
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

A touching, humorous story of strong-willed eleven-year-old Liv, who is determined to challenge his school's terrible dress code and change his life. Inspire empathy and compassion (and a few laughs ) in young readers with this stunning middle-grade novel.


In the Role of Brie Hutchens... Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616209070
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - June 30th, 2020

A Kirkus Reviews Best Middle Grade Book of 2020

An own-voices LGBTQ novel from the acclaimed author of Hurricane Season, about eighth grader Brie, who learns how to be true to herself and to her relationships with family, friends, and faith.


Introducing Brie Hutchens: soap opera super fan, aspiring actor, and so-so student at her small Catholic school.


Princess Princess Ever After Cover Image
By K. O'Neill, K. O'Neill (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781620107140
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Oni Press - March 3rd, 2020

Available for the first time in paperback, Princess Princess Ever After is the award-winning, queer graphic novel from K.


Felix Ever After Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062820259
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 5th, 2020

A Stonewall Honor Book

From Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time.


Odd One Out Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781101939567
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - September 17th, 2019

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's Us.


Like a Love Story Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780062839374
Availability: Backordered - Not In Stock
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 5th, 2020

Stonewall Honor Book!


Juliet Takes a Breath Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593108178
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - September 17th, 2019

A People magazine Best Book of Fall 2019
An Amazon Best Young Adult Book of 2019
"F***ing outstanding."--Roxane Gay, New York Times bestselling author


You Should See Me in a Crown Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338503265
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - June 2nd, 2020

A Stonewall Honor Book!

A Reese's Book Club YA Pick!

Liz Lighty has always believed she's too black, too poor, too awkward to shine in her small, rich, prom-obsessed midwestern town.


They Both Die at the End Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062457806
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quill Tree Books - December 18th, 2018

Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.


Cinderella Is Dead Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781547603879
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury YA - July 7th, 2020

"Wholly original and captivating." - Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Girls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that’s perfect for fans of Dhonielle Clayton and Melissa Albert.


The Gravity of Us Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781547600144
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury YA - February 4th, 2020

"I'm so starry-eyed for this wise, romantic gem of a book." - Becky Albertalli, bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

In this smart, heart-warming YA debut perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, two teens find love when their lives are uprooted for their parents’ involvement in a NASA mission to Mars.