Kids & Companions

for 8-to-11-year-olds and an adult companion

Families reading together is one of our favorite things to encourage! In this group, kids and an adult reading partner of their choice read the same book each month and get together to discuss (yes, the adults too) in conversation that is always lively and enlightening. Email us at info@littleshopofstories.com and we'll forward your information to Terra to be added to the email list!

Our next meeting is Friday, July 19th at 6:30pm. We will meet to discuss Eden's Everdark by Karen Strong.

In August, we will meet Friday, August 16th at 6:30pm to discuss Duet by Erin Broach.

In September, we will meet Friday, September 13th at 6:30pm to discuss A Seed in the Sun by Aida Salazar.

In October, we will meet Friday, October 11th at 6:30pm to discuss Song for a Whale by Lynne Kelly.

In November, we will meet Friday, November 8th at 6:30pm to discuss The Harlem Charade by Natasha Tarpley.

Eden's Everdark By Karen Strong Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781665904483
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 29th, 2023

Hailed by Newbery winner Kelly Barnhill as “stunning, moving, and marvelously strange,” this tale of a young girl who stumbles into a magical realm ruled by a wicked witch is a haunting and ultimately uplifting middle grade novel about grief, family, and decades-old magic.

Still grieving the loss of her mother, Eden visits Safina Island, her ancestral home, as a healing b


Duet By Elise Broach, Ziyue Chen (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Elise Broach, Ziyue Chen (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316311458
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Christy Ottaviano Books - May 21st, 2024

★ “Exceptional….


A Seed in the Sun By Aida Salazar Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593406601
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - October 25th, 2022

**Four starred reviews!**

A farm-working girl with big dreams meets activist Dolores Huerta and joins the 1965 protest for workers’ rights in this tender-hearted novel in verse, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Pam Muñoz Ryan.


A Seed in the Sun By Aida Salazar Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593406625
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - June 25th, 2024

**Four starred reviews!**

A farm-working girl with big dreams meets activist Dolores Huerta and joins the 1965 protest for workers’ rights in this tender-hearted novel in verse, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Pam Muñoz Ryan.


Song for a Whale By Lynne Kelly Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781524770266
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - December 31st, 2019

The award-winning and USA Today bestselling story of a deaf girl's connection to a whale whose song can't be heard by his species, and the journey she takes to help him.

"Fascinating, brave, and tender...a triumph." --Katherine Applegate, Newbery Award-winning author of The One and Only Ivan


The Harlem Charade By Natasha Tarpley Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545783880
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - April 24th, 2018

Fans of Chasing Vermeer will love this clever mystery about art, artifice, and the power of community.

WATCHER. SHADOW. FUGITIVE.Harlem is home to all kinds of kids. Jin sees life passing her by from the window of her family's bodega. Alex wants to help the needy one shelter at a time, but can't tell anyone who she really is.