Guys Who Read

for Guys Who Read

From classics to sci-fi, poetry and short stories to novels and non-fiction, these guys meet once a month over food and drinks to discuss books, music, movies, and anything else that comes up.

NOTE: ALL are welcome - everyone who shows up is an honorary guy! This book club typically meets off-site, rather than in-store. Email Raphael at rsiebenmann@gmail.com for more info.

We’re meeting next on Thursday, March 21st at 7:00pm. We’ll be discussing Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams.

In April, we'll be discussing A Primate's Memoir by Robert M. Sapolsky.

In May, we'll be discussing Piranesi by Susanna Clarke.

In June, we'll be discussing Remarkably Bright Creatures by Shelby Van Pelt.

In July, we'll be discussing Raw Dog by Jaime Loftus.

In August, we'll be discussing Harlem Shuffle by Colson Whitehead.

In September, we'll be discussing This Is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Motar and Max Gladstone.

In October, we'll be discussing Red Harvest by Dashiell Hammett.

In November, we'll be discussing Will You Please Be Quiet, Please? by Raymond Carver.

In December, we'll be discussing The Commitments by Roddy Doyle.

Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency By Douglas Adams Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781476782997
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - October 7th, 2014

From Douglas Adams, the legendary author of one of the most beloved science fiction novels of all time, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, comes a wildly inventive novel of ghosts, time travel, and one detective’s mission to save humanity from extinction.

DIRK GENTLY’S HOLISTIC DETECTIVE AGENCY
We solve the whole crime
We find the whole


A Primate's Memoir: A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons By Robert M. Sapolsky Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780743202411
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
(This book cannot be returned.)
Published: Scribner - March 12th, 2002

In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey, Robert Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of savanna baboons.

"I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,” writes Robert


Piranesi By Susanna Clarke Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781635577808
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 28th, 2021

New York Times Bestseller
Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction
World Fantasy Awards Finalist


The instant New York Times bestselling novel from the author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic book set in a dreamlike alternative reality.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Remarkably Bright Creatures: A Read with Jenna Pick By Shelby Van Pelt Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063204164
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Ecco - March 4th, 2025

A New York Times Bestseller!

A Read With Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick!

Remarkably Bright Creatures [is] an ultimately feel-good but deceptively sensitive debut. . . . Memorable and tender.” — Washington Post 


Raw Dog: The Naked Truth About Hot Dogs By Jamie Loftus Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250847744
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Forge Books - May 23rd, 2023

A NEW YORK TIMES AND INDIE BESTSELLER!

Part travelogue, part culinary history, all capitalist critique—comedian Jamie Loftus's debut, Raw Dog, will take you on a cross-country road trip in the summer of 2021, and reveal what the creation, culture, and class influence of hot dogs says about America now.


Harlem Shuffle: A Novel By Colson Whitehead Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525567271
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - August 9th, 2022

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From the two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Underground Railroad and The Nickel Boys, this gloriously entertaining novel is “fast-paced, keen-eyed and very funny ... about race, power and the history of Harlem all disguised as a thrill-ride crime novel" (San Francisco Chronicle).


This Is How You Lose the Time War By Amal El-Mohtar, Max Gladstone Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534430990
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: S&S/Saga Press - March 17th, 2020

* HUGO AWARD WINNER: BEST NOVELLA * NEBULA AND LOCUS AWARDS WINNER: BEST NOVELLA *

“[An] exquisitely crafted tale...Part epistolary romance, part mind-blowing science fiction adventure, this dazzling story unfolds bit by bit, revealing layers of meaning as it plays with cause and effect, wildly imaginative technologies, and increasingly intricate wordplay...This short novel


Red Harvest By Dashiell Hammett Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780679722618
Availability: Backordered - Not In Stock
Published: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard - July 17th, 1989

The steadfast and sturdy Continental Op has been summoned to the town of Personville—known as Poisonville—a dusty mining community splintered by competing factions of gangsters and petty criminals. The Op has been hired by Donald Willsson, publisher of the local newspaper, who gave little indication about the reason for the visit.


Will You Please Be Quiet, Please?: Stories (Vintage Contemporaries) By Raymond Carver Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780679735694
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - June 9th, 1992

The first collection of stories from “one of the great short story writers of our time” (The Philadelphia Inquirer) breathed new life into the American short story, showing us the humor and tragedy that dwell in the hearts of ordinary people.


The Commitments (Vintage Contemporaries) By Roddy Doyle Cover Image
$15.95
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780679721741
Published: Vintage - July 17th, 1989

In the first volume of the Barrytown Trilogy, Roddy Doyle, winner of the Booker Prize for Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha, introduces The Commitments, a group of fame-starved, working-class Irish youths with a paradoxical passion for the music of Sam Cooke and Otis Redding and a mission—to bring Soul to Dublin.